New Secretary of the Department of Homeland Security sworn in

John F. Kelly
Secretary John F. Kelly. Photo courtesy of the Trump-Pence Transition Team.

There is a new director at the helm of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS).

Retired Gen. John F. Kelly was sworn in Friday, Jan. 20, after the U.S. Senate voted to confirm him.

As Secretary of Homeland Security, Kelly now leads the third largest federal department in the United States.

DHS includes the Federal Emergency Management Agency, the Transportation Security Administration (TSA), the U.S. Coast Guard, the U.S. Customs and Border Protection (USCBP), the U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (USICE), the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) and the U.S. Secret Service.

Prior to joining DHS, Secretary Kelly served in the U.S. Marine Corps for 45 years culminating his career as Commandant of U.S. Southern Command (USSOUTHCOM) in 2016.