Senate rejects DREAM Act

The DREAM Act Closing Motion in the U.S. Senate failed to pass. The final vote of the Motion was 55 in favor and 41 against. This means that the DREAM Act will not become a reality this year.

* 5 Democrats voted against the DREAM Act. They are:

Max Baucus (D-MT)

Kay Hagan (D-NC)

Ben Nelson (D-NE)

Mark Pryor (D-AR)

Jon Tester (D-MT)

* 1 Democrat did not vote:

Joe Manchin (D-WV)

* 3 Republicans voted in favor:

Robert Bennett (R-UT)

Richard Lugar (R-IN)

Lisa Murkowski (R-AK)

This means that if ALL Democrats had voted for it, the DREAM Act would be a reality. Furthermore, if Republican Senators who previously supported the DREAM Act, such as Senators John McCain (R-AZ) and Orrin Hatch (R-UT), had voted for it, we would have something to celebrate today. However, today's outcome destroyed the dreams of thousands of young undocumented immigrants who aspired to a better life in the United States.